The coolest DIY wall!

(Dansk version nederst)

Rough, industrial and edgy but still warm with a soft expression and a Royal touch – of course😉 It has taken me some time to decide on material and color – I wanted a rough and edgy look materialwise but a warm and soft color…

Interiorwise

Interiorwise

I have always loved the look of plastered houses and I actually made the a messy project a couple of years ago when I made my own little DIY wall lab! I got this great idea, that I wanted  to mix sand and paint! It turned out really cool but if you came too close to the walls they would bite, it did not only look rough it WAS! Not too smart!😉

In our new flat I wanted to make something similar that did´nt bite! Who knew that I got so lucky coming across the Danish company KABE!

Ever heard of KABE? Well, here is your chance to get to know this cool product, that might make your life a little less messy and a lot cooler… at least it did mine!🙂
The Danish company has been up running since 2014, and when I found KABE my idea of mixing stuff together was solved – they´ve already done it for me, awesome!
KABE has developed a product of mixed plaster and paint! The color pallet is modern and developed in cooperation with the designer Mads Arlien-Søborg. As you might already know my favorite colors are in the darker end of the scale, but if you are into industrial and bright the pallet also offers amazing solutions! Which color is your favorite?🙂
If you wonder whether you dare to get yourself into a DIY wall project, Ill share all my experiences – its all about practice, patience and time! … but in the end its fun and the result is AWESOME! 
YOU NEED:
  • Spatulas in different sizes, make sure you have at least one that fits into the bucket!
  • Masking tape
  • Sandpaper (fine) and maybe a polish mashine
  • Something to cover the floor for blobs – I made plenty!
  • A broom AND a vacuum cleaner
  • An atomizer for the topcoat
  • A wet cloth

 

Interiorwise

Interiorwise

KICK OFF:

1. Remove all wallpaper and clean the walls as good as possible before starting. Its recommended that the walls are totally stripped before you start, but it wasn’t possible for me – nevertheless it turned out really cool, if you go for a more uneven look!

2. Add or pull the plaster with a spatula – its recommended that you do pull backwards or go back on spots where you’ve already been, but I think not to do that, you´ll have to be quite pro! But once the layer dried, the result turned out just the way I wanted it!

3. Make sure you have two spatulas during the process; one to pull the plaster on the wall and one where you can put the left overs.

4. Let the first layer dry for at least 16 hours!

5. Polish the walls  with sand paper – I was told to do it by hand, and I did to begin with, but cause of my inexperience the layer was very uneven, so I tried to make it up with the machine – very slow polishing in circles – and turned out really cool and even!

First layer polished!

First layer polished!

6. Add one more layer if you find it necessary. Its recommended to add a second layer to the entire wall, but I was actually quite happy after the first layer, and I did not want to spoil it, so I decided only to add a second layer on spots where it seemed too uneven.

7. Let it dry again for at least 16 hours!

8. Polish again

9. Brooooooooooom the walls – all the dust MUST be removed before the top coat.

10. Use an atomizer for the top coat – spray an area and dab with a wet cloth to avoid it running… go on until the entire walls are coated. Let it dry! And add a second layer of top coat, this time you can easily use the cloth in circles… add a third layer if you want to, but at least two!

Interiorwise

Interiorwise

Interiorwise

Interiorwise

Interiorwise

Interiorwise

Im am more than happy about the final result!🙂

I must admit that it was more difficult than I expected and I spent quite a lot of time doing it, that being said… once you get the hang of it, it ain´t that difficult, and its actually quite fun! Most important… the result is awesome and the fact that we´ve done it all by ourself makes it a lot more cool and a lot more personal!! I am already planning the next KABE project!!

Interiorwise

Interiorwise

Interiorwise

Interiorwise

Råt, industrielt og kantet men stadig et varmt og blødt udtryk og selvfølgelig med et royalt strejf😉 Det har taget mig “lidt” tid til at beslutte, hvilket materiale og farve vi skulle have, men jeg vidste, at væggene skulle have et råt look, men en varm og blød farve…

Jeg har altid elsket pudsede huse, og jeg kastede mig faktisk ud i et møgbeskidt projekt for et par år siden, hvor jeg lavede mit eget lille DIY væg laboratorium! Jeg fik den famøse idé at blande sand og maling, og det viste sig faktisk at blive virkelig fedt, men hvis du kom for tæt på væggene, bed de fra sig, de så ikke bare rå ud, de var RÅ! Ik´skide smart!😉

Da vi fik vores nye lejlighed, ville jeg rigtig gerne have noget lignende! Og, hvem ku´vide, at jeg var så heldig at støde på det danske firma KABE! Kender du KABE? Så har du chancen her, for at tjekke et fedt produkt ud, der kan gøre dit liv lidt mindre “beskidt” og meget mere cool… det gjorde det i hvert fald for mig!🙂

Firmaet har eksisteret siden 2014, og da jeg fandt KABE, var min ide om at blande ting sammen løst – de havde allerede gjort det for mig, sejt!
KABE har udviklet et produkt -et mix af spartelmasse og maling! Farve paletten er moderne og udviklet i samarbejde med designeren Mads Arlien-Søborg. Som du måske allerede ved, er mine favorit farver i den mørke ende af skalaen, men hvis du er til industrielt og lyst, har  paletten også en masse at tilbyde. Hvilken farve er din favorit?🙂

Hvis du spekulerer, hvorvidt du tør kaste dig ud i et væg projekt, så deler jeg alle mine erfaringer her – Det handler om øvelse, tålmodighed og tid! … Men i sidste ende er det sjovt, og resultatet er SUPER FEDT!

DU SKAL BRUGE:

  • Spartler i forskellige størrelser, sørg for at have mindst én, der passer ned i spanden!
  • Malertape
  • Sandpapir (fint) og måske en slibemaskine
  • Noget til at dække gulvet for klatter – Jeg lavede masser!
  • En kost og en støvsuger
  • En forstøver til topcoat
  • En våd klud

KICK OFF:

1. Fjern al tapet og rengør væggene så godt som muligt, før du starter. Det anbefales, at væggene er helt rene, men det var ikke muligt for mig – men det fungerer alligevel super godt, hvis du går efter et mere råt  udseende!

2. Påfør eller træk spartelmassen på væggen med en spartel – det anbefales, at du ikke går tilbage, hvor du allerede har været, men det var noget af en udfordring (rettere umuligt) og, jeg tror man skal være ret prof! Men når det første lag blev tørt, var resultatet præcis, som jeg ønskede!

3. Sørg for at have to spartler; én til at trække spartelmassen på væggen og én, hvor du kan lægge det, der er tilovers.

4. Lad første lag tørre i mindst 16 timer!

5. Slib væggene med sandpapir – Jeg fik at vide, at jeg skulle gøre det i hånden, så det gjorde jeg til at  starte med, men tror min uerfarenhed var skyld i, at det første lag var mere end ujævnt, så jeg greb til slibemaskinen – jeg sleb meget langsom i cirkler – og det blev virkelig godt!

6. Påfør et lag spartelmasse til, hvis du finder det nødvendigt. Det anbefales at påføre et lag til på hele væggen, men jeg var faktisk helt tilfreds efter første lag, og jeg var så bange for at ødelægge det look, så jeg besluttede mig for kun at lappe på steder, hvor det virkede alt for ujævn.

7. Lad det tørre igen i mindst 16 timer!

8. Slib igen!

9. Fej væggenw – alt støvet skal væk, før du kan spraye top coat på.

10. Brug en forstøver til top coat – spray et område og dub med en våd klud for at undgå det løber…  fortsæt indtil hele væggen er sprayet. Lad det tørre! Og spray endnu et lag top coat på, denne gang kan du sagtens tørre med kluden i cirkler… spray et tredje lag på, hvis du synes, men mindst to!

Jeg er mere end tilfreds med resultatet !🙂

Jeg må indrømme, at det var lidt sværere end forventet, og jeg har brugt en del tid på det, men når det er sagt… når du først får taget i det, er det slet ikke så svært og faktisk ret sjovt! Men det vigtigste … resultatet er for fedt og det, at vi har lavet det hele selv, gør det endnu mere cool og meget mere personligt !! Jeg allerede planlagt mit næste KABE projekt !!

If you have any kind of questions, comments, whatever – WRITE ME🙂
I LOVE IT! I can’t wait to show you the final make over of the room…
xx Daniélle

7 responses to “The coolest DIY wall!

Leave a Reply

