Is your sun yellow?!

(Dansk version nederst)

When I was a kid I painted the sun yellow, because someone taught me that the sun was yellow! But is it really yellow?? or just a huge bright lamp that lightens up our room?! Nevertheless, someone has decised that this beautiful thing, that heats up our bodies and boost our energy is YELLOW!! In the natural world yellow is the color of happiness, optimism and enlightenment! SO, why is that none, of whom I know, use yellow in their interior design and why is it my boyfriend says, that I can do whatever I want to interiorwise as long as I keep my hands OFF yellow! I actually like yellow and find a great inspiration and satisfaction in yellow interior…

I went for a a little research and asked my fellow-interior-enthusiasts in a Facebook group of almost 20.000 members how they feel about yellow and if they would show me their homes!

Their answers represented the entire scale! Here are some of them…

To me yellow is a very hard color, I wouldn’t dare using it! 

I love yellow, but it has to be combined with other colors!

I love yellow, yellow makes me happy! 

I am crazy about yellow! 

Yellow is a warm and happy color, I love yellow! 

If I let the answers stand alone my imagination goes all wild and I see rooms painted all yellow, like this one to the right. Maybe because if really love a color I have a tendency to go in saint!😉 So I was actually quite surprised, when I saw all the nice photos of how my fellow members think yellow interior design🙂

Dots: Katja Poulsens home Cupboard: Caroline Kruse Vendelbo Sørensens home  Plate: Kristina Lindes home

Dots: Katja Poulsens home
Cupboard: Caroline Kruse Vendelbo Sørensens home
Plate: Kristina Lindes home

I was wondering why a color people really like is reduced to an accent color! Cause, I myself have an entire wall painted in petrol, my FAVORITE color :)  SO, I did some more research… and I found that yellow is the color that captures our attention more than any other color, its the most visible color of the spectrum and the first color that the human eye processes is yellow. Maybe, that is the explanation both why yellow is used for cautionary signs and emergency vehicles and why an excessive use of bright yellow can irritate the eyes, my boyfriends eyes! To end this I still think that yellow works awesomely interiorwise entire walls or as an accent color to create focus in the room! If it annoys your eye go for accent if not, check out these photos😉

Thanks to all for sharing your photos with me!
WELCOME YELLOW!!

Da jeg var barn, malede jeg altid min sol gul, fordi nogen lærte mig, at solen var gul! Men er den virkelig gul? eller er det bare en enorm lampe, der lyser op over os?! Ikke desto mindre har nogen bestemt, at denne smukke ting, der varmer vores kroppe og fylder os med energi er GUL! I den naturlige verden er gul farven på lykke, optimisme og oplysning! Men, hvorfor er der så ingen i min omgangskreds, der bruger gul i deres indretning? Og, hvorfor er det min kæreste siger, at jeg kan gøre, hvad jeg vil, så længe jeg holder mig fra gul! Jeg er faktisk vild med gul og finder stor inspiration i gult indretning…

Jeg besluttede mig for at researche lidt og spurgte mine indretningsvenner i en Facebook-gruppe på næsten 20.000 medlemmer, hvad de mener om gul, og om de ville vise mig deres gule indretning!

Svarene repræsenterede hele skalaen! Her er nogle af dem …

For mig gul er en skrap  farve, jeg ville jeg ikke turde bruge det!

I love gule, men den skal bruges med en anden farve!

Jeg elsker gul, gul gør mig glad!

Jeg er vild med gul!

Gul er en varm og glad farve, jeg elsker gul!

Hvis jeg lader svarene stå alene, løber min fantasi af med mig, og jeg ser helt gule vægge, som på billedet til højre. Måske fordi, jeg selv går helt amok, når jeg er vild med en farve😉 Så jeg var faktisk ret overrasket, da jeg så alle de dejlige billeder af, hvordan mine indretningsvenner tænker gul indretning🙂

Jeg spekulerede på, hvorfor en farve, man virkelig godt kan lide reduceres til en accent (fokus) farve! Jeg har selv en hel væg malet i petroleum, min yndlingsfarve🙂 Så jeg lavede lidt mere research … og fandt ud af, at gul er den af alle farver, der fanger vores opmærksomhed først, den mest synlige farve i spektrum og den første farve, som det menneskelige øje absorberer. Måske, har jeg  forklaringen her, både, hvorfor gul bruges til advarsels tegn og udrykningskøretøjer og, hvorfor overdreven brug af gul kan irritere nogens øjne, min kærestes øjne eksempelvis! For at afslutte denne snak om gul, synes jeg stadig, at gul er en fantastisk farve at indrette med det være sig hele vægge eller som en accent farve for at skabe fokus i rummet! Hvis det irriterer dit øje så gå for accent effekten hvis ikke, så tjek disse billeder;)

TUSINDE TAK FOR ALLE JER, DER HAR DELT JERES BILLEDER MED MIG!🙂


Leave a Reply

